Ben Peoples Speaks


Half-Life thoughts
October 25, 2010, 10:46 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The last couple months I’ve been playing a lot of Half-Life multiplayer.  HL is 12 years old, but still has a strong player base.  Mainly because it’s fun, the graphics run great on almost any machine, and… there’s a strong player base.

Anyways, I’m a medium-skilled player– no longer a n00b, but only successful in certain circumstances.  My aim is pretty terrible, and I’m not very good yet at defenses.  But I’m smart, and on certain maps that’s all it takes.

Sunday mid-morning, there wasn’t much going on on my usual servers, but I ended up on a busy server with roughly 20 other people playing (I usually play against 5-6 people), and we ended up on a level with almost no cover, basically just a big open room with some ledges and things around the sides.  On this kind of level, with this many people, there’s no chance of surviving more than a couple dozen seconds before somebody hits you with something that will kill you.  That basically means rockets or the tau (sort of a ray-gun that a good direct hit will kill you immediately).  My aim is pretty bad, so I tried the rockets, to minimum success.  I actually managed to get one of the better players with the crowbar, mainly because he wasn’t looking for it.

So then I realize that this server is basically an “all-weapons” server– they give you max ammo and all weapons to start.  So I have 10 grenades from the machine gun.  These can go pretty far, and explode on impact.  So I just start running around lobbing grenades at anything that moves, and focusing on not blowing myself up.  IT WORKS, amazingly.  Everyone else is running around with the tau or rockets and making kills here and there.  I’m making 2-3 kills before I get killed, and then right back into.  Most turns I managed to get all 10 grenades out before anybody hit me with anything.

So the map/level ends after 30 minutes, or when anyone gets to 60 kills.  I got to 60 kills in like 15 minutes, the next-best score was around 40.

What’s the lesson here?  If you find yourself out of your element, take a moment to look around and see if there’s a strategy that nobody else is trying that might work better.  Give it a go, if it works, keep it up.  If it doesn’t work, change until it does.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

